top of page

STONE COLD HEART (Book Review)



As a longtime fan of Laura Griffin I was excited to get her recent book Stone Cold Heart, number 13 in the Tracers series (I've read them all so far!). Filled with suspense, crime and romance the book did not disappoint. I must say that what attracts me most about the Tracers series are the female characters. They are generally smart, career-driven, capable women who have a tendency to not follow the rules. That character in Stone Cold Heart is Sara Lockhart, an anthropologist at the Delphi Center, one of the top crime labs in the country.


PERSONAL NOTE: I live near Quantico Marine Corps Base where the FBI Academy is located and I have often wondered what goes on behind those heavily secured gates. Quantico is mentioned in every Tracers book as a comparison to the fictional Delphi Center and when I'm reading about the center it makes me feel like I'm getting a tiny glimpse of what may go on inside of Quantico.


Ok back to the book - Sara gets a call from Detective Nolan Hess who needs help at a potential crime scene ASAP. Thus this starts us off on a chilling, sexy and suspenseful ride that effortlessly bounces between multiple crimes and a potential serial killer. Author Laura Griffin fleshes out each scene in a way that makes you feel like you are there. I can imagine the surroundings and the characters as if I were a part of the story. My only complaint is that at times the romantic parts seem too long. I found myself anxious to get back to investigation. And I have to admit for the first time in the Tracers series I was not able to figure out the killer before the reveal. The author did a great job throwing you off with other potential suspects. I was also happy to see characters from previous books in the Tracers series pop up but the author did it in a way that would not confuse first time readers.


Overall Stone Cold Heart was a good read; a smart, sexy procedural that kept my attention all the way through.


BONUS: The book features at sneak peek of Laura Griffin's next book described as a "stand-alone thriller" title HER DEADLY SECRETS available July 2019....I'll be impatiently waiting for it :)



תגובות

לא היה ניתן לטעון את התגובות
נראה שהייתה בעיה טכנית. כדאי לנסות להתחבר מחדש או לרענן את הדף.
bottom of page