top of page

Why Be Happy?


Having recently lost several family members I find myself dealing looking for ways to be happier so when I saw this title and read the summary I was eager to read more. I found the book quiet intriguing, thought-provoking and well-researched. I would recommend it to those looking to expand their knowledge of Japanese culture. The author, Scott Haas, touches on various aspects of the Japanese way of life as he shares his personal experience and observations honestly and vividly. Haas' analysis is fascinating and very easy to understand. I especially love chapter three. He writes about an idea of "waiting and observing" by showing us the Japanese way to serving tea, coffee, and cocktails. His observations are sensitive and thoughtful. While I picked this book for my personal journey it is relevant to us all now as we cope with the pandemic. Haas writes; "... when a crisis does occur, one in which the external structures are not enough to solve matters, what is the individual supposed to do?" He is not judgmental, but inquisitive which causes you to be the same in return. I highly recommend this book!

Comentarios


bottom of page